The UKEMS presents a number of awards at its annual meeting in recognition of scientific achievement and/or contribution to the field of environmental mutagenesis.

UKEMS Jim Parry Award

The Jim Parry Award is given to a senior scientist (and present or past member of UKEMS) who, in the opinion of the UKEMS committee, has made substantial contributions to the field of environmental mutagenesis.

This biennial award has been established to honour Jim Parry (1940-2010), who was one of the pioneers of the field of genetic toxicology. He was President of UKEMS from 1974-1977, Vice- president of the European Environmental Mutagen Society (EEMS) from 1993-1995 and its President from 1995 to 1997. He was the founding editor of the journal “Mutagenesis". An obituary to Jim can be found in Mutagenesis (2011) 26, 1-2.

The awards consist of:

  • Inscribed bronze Jim Parry medal
  • Cheque for £1000
  • The recipient is expected to present an award lecture at the UKEMS annual meeting

See Previous Award Winners

UKEMS Young Scientist Award

This prestigious biennial award will be presented to a UKEMS member who has made an outstanding contribution to the field. In order to be eligible, the nominee must have no more than 10 years experience since receiving their PhD and should have been a UKEMS member for longer than 9 months.

Nominations will be requested from the membership following publication of an announcement on the UKEMS website and by email.

Nominations should include a cover letter, one page CV, a list of publications, full copies of the nominee’s 3 ‘best’ papers and a letter of support from the nominee’s supervisor, line manager or other suitable proposer to the UKEMS Secretary.

Adjudication will be by a panel of five judges, comprising three or more UKEMS Fellows, selected by the UKEMS Committee.

The award consists of:

  • Travel, registration and accommodation expenses for a relevant scientific meeting the following year
  • Cheque for £250
  • Inscribed UKEMS Young Scientist Medal

The recipient is expected to present an award lecture at the UKEMS annual meeting and to submit an appropriate manuscript to Mutagenesis (research or review article) in the same year of receiving their award.

The recipient is also encouraged to present at the EEMGS meeting.

See Previous Award Winners

UKEMS Poster & Presentation Awards

Presenters in part-time or full-time education, or working as post-doctoral scientists in an academic institution, are eligible for consideration for UKEMS awards, which are given at the annual conference.

The UKEMS Overall best presentation award

The award consists of:

  • A certificate
  • A cash prize of £250

The UKEMS Oral and Poster presentation awards

The awards consist of:

  • A certificate
  • A cash prize of £100

See Previous Award Winners

Mutagenesis Paper of the Year Award

UKEMS are excited to introduce a new award from 2020 to showcase the excellent research published in our society journal, Mutagenesis.

The Mutagenesis Paper of the Year Award is presented to the lead author of the most highly downloaded paper in the first six month following publication in Mutagenesis. The winning author will be selected by the UKEMS committee to receive their award and present on the winning paper at the UKEMS Annual Meeting. The author(s) need not be a member of UKEMS.

The award consists of:

  • Award plaque
  • Expenses to support attendance and presentation of the winning paper at the UKEMS Annual Meeting for the selected author

Mutagenesis is an international multi-disciplinary journal co-owned by UKEMS and Oxford University Press. It is designed to bring together research aimed at the identification, characterization and elucidation of the mechanisms of action of physical, chemical and biological agents capable of producing genetic change in living organisms and the study of the consequences of such changes.

For information on the journal and how you can submit to Mutagenesis, please visit the website here.

See Previous Award Winners